Image 1 of 1


From left, spellers 30, Frank Cahill, 89 Gifton Samuel Wright, 44 Stuti Mishra, 19 Snigdha Nandipati, 213 Lena Greenberg, 162 Arvind Mahankali, 136  Jordan Hoffman, 193 Nicholas Rushlow, and 145 Emma Ciereszynski celebrate reaching the finals of the Scripps National Spelling Bee at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in Oxon Hill, Md., on Thursday,  May 31, 2012. Photo by Bill Clark